top of page

The Brush Saga - W7 Face Blender Brush Review

Yes, I admit that I am a brush hoarder. I'm sure my fellow make-up artists would agree that a make-up artist can never have too many brushes!

Whilst I may have a gazillion brushes, I'm always on the look out for more. This time, the specific brush that I was after was a flat top contour brush. A brush that would give Kim Kardashian's contour a run for its money!!

I did a little research, read some reviews and eventually found an inexpensive dupe to the Illamasqua blush up brush (which costs £28.50). The W7 Face Blender Brush had rave reviews and seemed amazing for a bargain price of £5.95.

How could I go wrong?! I instantly ordered this online and waited patiently for the brush to arrive. Once I received the brush, I was surprised to see that it looked a little different to what I saw online. From the picture online, I could see that it was a thick flat top brush with the bristles curving a little. In reality, the bristles had a deeper dip and I wondered how this brush would create the perfect contour. Below are two pictures I took showing what the brush actually looks like.

Here is how I saw the brush online with only a slight curve

photo 2 (22).JPG

In reality the bristles are deeper and hollow

photo 4 (10).JPG

I didn't want to write this brush off straight away and decided to give it a try. Unfortunately, I felt that my first impressions of the brush were correct. When trying to pick up colour from my contour palette, the brush would only pick up colour on two ends, leaving the hollow part of the brush out. This meant that I was unable to create a smooth contour and I was left with patches on my face instead!

In terms of appearance, the brush looked good. The bristles were held together with a metal barrel and the handle was made of a wooden material. The brush itself was thick and heavy, so it was a mission trying to get it in and out of my brush belt. To help you visualise this, I have included some more images below.

Thick and heavy handle

photo 3 (14).JPG

My attempt at picking up colour on the brush

photo 1 (20).JPG

The lack of colour on the brush

photo 2 (22).JPG

I understand that the W7 is a multi purpose brush for applying contour, blush and bronzer. However, I feel that the hollow dip made it difficult to apply any kind of colour on the face. It may be that I need to get used to the brush and try using it in different ways, but for now I have put it to a side. As much as I hate writing negative reviews, I have to be honest...I feel like this brush was not worth buying.

To sum it all up, here are some pro's and con's:

PRO's:

* Soft bristles

* Sturdy brush

* Multi-purpose brush

CON's:

* Handle is too thick

* Bristles too wide - not great for defining

* On the heavy side

* Does not pick up colour evenly due to dip in bristles

Nevertheless, it was only £5.95 and I will have to keep on searching for a new contour brush. So the saga continues...Until next time keep smiling, love yourself and love your make-up.

Love, Fawziyah xxx

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Archive
Follow Us
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
bottom of page